Our History

The Farmhouse has a rich history, dating all the way back to c.1760.

Durslade Farmhouse forms part of a group of Grade II-listed farm buildings which dates from as early as c.1760. It was originally owned by the Berkeley family, whose coat of arms can still be found above the west-facing entrance.

The farm in Bruton, Somerset, has changed hands three times since the 18th century; however, in recent years the buildings were left vacant and fell into disrepair. In 2012, Hauser & Wirth received planning permission to restore and conserve Durslade Farm.

Hauser & Wirth worked alongside concept architects and interior designers Laplace & Co on this unique renovation project; and conservation architectural firm Benjamin & Beauchamp was asked to sympathetically restore the building.

Full of character and bold innovative twists, the Farmhouse interior has been transformed in a way that complements and celebrates the natural antiquity of the building. Although major construction work was required, the architects made a virtue of the fact that the house had not been touched in over 50 years, and refrained from disturbing much of the existing look.

Laplace & Co has kept many original fittings, combining them with vintage furniture, sourced from local shops and salvage yards, as well as other unusual finds.

The interior is completed with unique artworks by two of Hauser & Wirth’s artists, Guillermo Kuitca and Pipilotti Rist.

Find Out More

Got a question about the Durslade Farm site?